24 and Counting……….

24 and counting……….

Chalk it up #24, this is where it all started 24 years ago, the Superdome in New Orleans was the site of my first Superbowl. The 49ers were also there and crushed the Broncos and a young 20 year old was shooting his first big game. This contest was much better, throw in a blackout and it was another fun memorable night. My shooting partner was Ricky Williams who was doing a photo project for ESPN the Magazine; he was nice guy, very quiet and just went about his business. I gave him a couple of tips and he went on his way, I was able to peak over his shoulder after the game and saw some pretty good images, the issue comes out in a couple of months, looking forward to seeing what he got.

I’m always asked the question of do I root for a team while I’m shooting, my answer is always. I root for the team I have better pictures of. By the end of the third quarter, it was clear my images were far better of the niners and I was pulling for Kaepernick and the 49ers to pull off a last minute win. It wasn’t to be, the Ravens made a defensive hold and were able to give Ray Lewis their face of the franchise a proper sendoff.

New Orleans was a good host as always, special thanks goes out to Sean Hintz and Don Jolovich at ESPN.com, I know this was the 10th time Sean and myself have done these games together, we have witnessed some pretty epic moments. Sean and Don kept running around grabbing cards and doing a pretty phenomenal job getting my images out. When you see the mass amount of people some of the photo outlets have at these games, it’s pretty cool, that the three of us can get some nice use on the on-line gallery. Also a tip of the hat to John Korpics, creative director at ESPN, what can I say this is the 3rd game we’ve been together and they all have come down to the wire, some guys just have that special knack.

Super Bowl XLVIISuper Bowl XLVIISuper Bowl XLVIISuper Bowl XLVIISuper Bowl XLVIISuper Bowl XLVIISuper Bowl XLVIISuper Bowl XLVIISuper Bowl XLVIISuper Bowl XLVIISuper Bowl XLVIISuper Bowl XLVIISuper Bowl XLVIISuper Bowl XLVIISuper Bowl XLVIISuper Bowl XLVIISuper Bowl XLVIISuper Bowl XLVIISuper Bowl XLVIISuper Bowl XLVIISuper Bowl XLVIISuper Bowl XLVII

Leave a Reply

